With Roe v. Wade overturned, which states would restrict or protect abortion rights?

Washington — US Supreme Court’s shocking decision 1973 Reversed the historic milestone of Roe v. Wade The regime on abortion rights has set a 50-year precedent and has given state lawmakers across the country the power to ban or restrict abortion.The result will be a patchwork of laws that vary depending on where a person lives.

in the thirteen states so called “Trigger Law” On the books, in which abortion would be swiftly outlawed in most cases. In the June 24 decision, the court upheld a Mississippi Law Prohibition of abortion after 15 weeks of pregnancy.

Justice Samuel Alito wrote in the majority opinion, “Roe was seriously wrong from the start. … It is time to heed the Constitution and return the issue of abortion to the elected representatives of the people.” Roe held that the Constitution protected a woman’s right to an abortion before the point at which a fetus was viable outside the womb, usually around 24 weeks of pregnancy.

Several Republican-led states have already passed laws that would prohibit abortions at various stages in pregnancy. Meanwhile, democratic-led states have worked to protect abortion rights. And state-level action on the issue of abortion has taken place not only in state legislatures across the country, but in their own courts as well.

One Analysis by the Guttmacher InstituteA research organization supporting abortion rights found that as of May 1, 23 states had laws on the books that could be used to restrict abortion rights in Roe’s absence.

On August 5, Indiana became the first state new abortion ban laws In view of Roe’s decision. State lawmakers passed and the governor signed an almost complete abortion ban, with exceptions for cases of rape, incest, and to protect the life and physical health of the mother.

Here’s how states stand up to other states on abortion access:

States with “trigger” laws

Thirteen states have so-called “trigger” laws that would prohibit abortion as opposed to Roe: Arkansas, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Wyoming. The laws of some states will come into force immediately after the Supreme Court’s decision, while others will come into force after 30 days.

In many cases, sanctions take effect after a state attorney general or another official certifies that a Supreme Court decision overturns Roe, but this can be swiftly followed by a court decision.

The Attorney General of Missouri, Eric S. Schmidt, issued an opinion Saying within minutes that her state’s ban is now in effect, outlawed abortion, except in cases of medical emergency, with no exceptions for rape or incest. “With this Attorney General opinion, my office has effectively outlawed abortion in Missouri, becoming the first state in the country to do so following a court decision,” Schmidt said in a statement. Statement,

Lawmakers in Nebraska attempted to pass a trigger ban this year, but it failed in the state Senate in April.

States with 6-week restrictions

Anti-abortion rights advocates are pressing states to enact legislation to ban the procedure after a fetal heartbeat is detected, at about six weeks into pregnancy. Eleven states have done so, although nearly all of the measures were initially blocked: Georgia, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee and Texas.

Texas law came into force when the Supreme Court last year refused to block it from being implemented. The measure has a novel enforcement mechanism that employs private citizens, not state officials, to enforce it by filing a lawsuit in a state court against any person who performs an abortion or “aides or abets” them. Is”. Its design has inspired bills in other GOP-led states that mirror the Texas measure.

States with a 15-week ban

In Florida, the 15-week ban was signed into law in April and took effect July 1. Mississippi’s 15-week ban, passed in 2018, was at the center of controversy that led to Roe’s overturning.

Louisiana’s 15-week measure was signed into law in 2018 by Democratic Gov. John Bel Edwards, though it will only take effect if Mississippi’s law is upheld.

In Kentucky, the state legislature Government overrides Andy Beshear’s veto of a bill banning abortion after 15 weeks of pregnancy last month. But a US district court granted Planned Parenthood’s request for a temporary restraining order, preventing the bill from taking effect.

States with a 20-week ban

Four states have laws on the books banning abortions after 20 weeks: Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, and North Carolina.

In Montana, Governor Greg Gianfort, a Republican, signed legislation last year outlawing abortion after 20 weeks, but a state court judge blocked the measure and two other abortion laws from taking effect in October.

Abortion states ban Roe v. Wade pre-dates

In addition to having new laws on the books about when an abortion can be performed in pregnancy, nine states have enacted laws prior to the 1973 ruling in Roe that were never removed.

Those states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Michigan, Mississippi, Oklahoma, Texas, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

In Michigan, however, a Democrat, Gov. Gretchen Whitmer, pre litigation 13 county prosecutors with abortion clinics under their jurisdiction in an effort to circumvent the state’s 1931 ex-row abortion ban.

States with abortion rights enshrined in their constitution

Supreme Courts in nine states have recognized the right to abortion under their respective constitutions reproductive rights center, State constitutional protections ensure that abortion will remain legal even without a cry.

Some of these states, such as Florida, have passed laws restricting access, while others, such as Montana, have temporarily blocked abortion restrictions.

The nine states are Alaska, California, Florida, Illinois, Kansas, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Montana, and New Jersey.

Iowa was on that list, but the state’s Supreme Court ruled in june that the right to abortion is not protected under the state’s constitution, overturning a court ruling just four years earlier. Iowa’s GOP-controlled legislature and governor have indicated they will move to further restrict abortion access.

In Kansas, an amendment allowing abortion regulation went before voters in August, but was lost, while maintaining the security of the state. Pro-abortion-rights groups in Michigan also ran a ballot campaign to insulate the right to abortion in the state’s constitution.

States with laws protecting abortion rights

While many Republican-led states have passed laws restricting access to abortion, Democratic-led states have moved to preserve abortion rights. Sixteen states and the District of Columbia have taken such steps: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *